Music News

Morbid Angel to Reportedly Wreck Our Eardrums with Newly-Announced Album ‘Kingdoms Disdained’

(October 16th, 2017) – Legendary death metal band Morbid Angel will unleash their terrorizing ninth studio album, entitled Kingdoms Disdained, on December 1st of this year. The record, which will be released via Silver Lining Music and JVC in Japan, reunites founding guitarist Trey Azagthoth with bassist/vocalist Steve Tucker.

Just one play of Morbid Angel’s searing opening track “Piles of Little Arms,” and you will soon realize that this is the only true current aural document of a world sinking into a pit of uncharted despair.

“The album title says it all,” says Tucker, “Everybody’s fed up and nobody can figure out how to fix it. We’ve got all these miniature wars in neighborhoods, cities, countries, and we’ve got people with varying opinions causing chaos, yet everyone is doing what they feel is right. Which all makes it feel like the world has reached a point of utter madness and confusion.”


Recorded at Mana Studios in St. Petersburg, Florida and produced by Morbid Angel with Erik Rutan (Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse, Hate Eternal, Six Feet Under, Belphegor), Azagthoth, Tucker and drummer Scotty Fuller (Annihilated; former Abysmal Dawn) created eleven pieces of devastatingly dynamic death metal. Compositions such as “Garden Of Disdain,” “Architect And Iconoclast,” and “The Pillars Crumbling” supremely illustrate Azagthoth’s incredible creative alchemy with Tucker as well as his own incomparable, masterful guitar work.

As if fate constructed the moment, these forefathers of death metal found themselves witnessing the storm’s eye as they prepared to create their ninth studio album, deciphering it with their ferocious music via long-held Sumerian-based beliefs:

“It’s been written but nobody pays attention, because we erase our history,” furthers Tucker. “We don’t understand much about the Sumerian texts because things got erased, buried, and broken up. And for years, Trey and I talked a lot about the idea of those Gods waking up and coming back to show us that they’re angry.”

Kingdoms Disdained also features artwork courtesy of Irish mixed-media artist Ken Coleman, who created a series of pieces that further augment the stories being told. Do not tread idly around the edge of Kingdoms Disdained, rather, dive in head-first on the journey and Morbid Angel’s intense importance to these times will be crystal clear.

“We’re always trying to paint pictures; to create images,” notes Tucker, “and I think this album is a fair image of the world today, but taken from a different perspective; the perspective of those Gods who built this, who may be resting now but are starting to wake up.”

Morbid Angel’s Kingdoms Disdained will be available on CD, vinyl, and digital formats. Physical and digital preorders are currently available here (CD and vinyl formats available at the Amazon link). A special-edition boxset will be available to order shortly.
1. Piles Of Little Arms  
2. D.E.A.D.  
3. Garden of Disdain  
4. The Righteous Voice  
5. Architect And Iconoclast  
6. Paradigms Warped  
7. The Pillars Crumbling  
8. For No Master
9. Declaring New Law (Secret Hell)*
10. From The Hand Of Kings
11. The Fall Of Idols  
*Not available on the vinyl format

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: